Kirby, the Super Star. It he really that ultra?

Kirby Super Star Ultra

Kirby Super Stars has been my favorite in the Kirby series. I liked that if you were to get hit, that you wouldn’t lose your power all the time. It also had the coolest powers, like the yoyo ability and in KSSU I really like ice. They seemed to tinker with the animations of Ice Kirby in a way I can use to my advantage a lot and effectively. Also, it’s a fine example of games that start out on handhelds and make it all the way to console and being relatively famous.


Ok, let me give you some information. Masahiro Sakurai is the creator of Kirby. “Sakurai intended for Kirby’s Dream Land to be a simple game that could be played by beginning gamers”(Wikipedia). This is something I feel is very important to every Kirby game, but I have been seeing the Kirby games getting harder lately. Now, I know many gamers are set on beating video games to the fullest (100%), so this makes it a problem if the game takes a difficulty curve. I believe that the first hard part in a Kirby game, aside from Dream Land’s hard mode, is in Kirby Canvas Curse.The last three medals you have to get are received once you complete the three mini-games. All the mini-games are sort of hard, but one that stands out is the Paint Roller game. Does anyone think that they can complete 99 stages of something¬† with an A rank and be considered a beginner player? But don’t get me wrong, I love that game. It’s ridiculously good, innovative and has a great soundtrack. Maybe I’ll make Kirby music a different post, haha.

Now the thing that troubles me is that my FAVORITE kirby game has gotten dificult. I loved Kirby Super Star because there were lots of smaller games I could play and not be required to play for long periods at a time. With the new remake it’s the same deal, except HAL Lab has added new mini-games and kept some nostalgic things in there (Megaton Punch!) without even changing the graphics of some of the stuff. HAL Lab even added 3D cut-scene animations. That is such a neat idea. Now for difficulty in this game, for beginners, is the final game. The game is called The TRUE Arena and it is truly a challenge. Now, I’m just going to say it. It’s really really really hard! No beginner can beat that! Ever! Also, the way to unlock one of the cut-scenes is to beat The Helper Arena with all of the helpers. I wasn’t quite sure on how to do that at first until someone told me.

My hope is that the new Kirby game for the WII (unreleased) will be really fun, and not too challenging. They’re certainly bringing a few interesting things together. Sort of combining the game ideas from each series into one game.

~ by yoyokirby on March 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Kirby, the Super Star. It he really that ultra?”

  1. hi, where can you get this kirby game on dsi?

Leave a Reply

 
